Preparations, Presentation, Demonstration, Continuation


PREPARATION, PRESENTATION, DEMONSTRATION, CONTINUATION                           ROSS SMITH MAY 2013

 A SHORT NOTE OF ENCOURAGEMENT

 I am sure that the Lord is adapting folk to carry out tasks that we have not faced before, no longer is He content to have adequate ministers, I think He is looking for EXEMPLARY ministers. The “feel good” that we often experience when we know we have been subject to the Lord’s advice as to the message we either PREPARE or DELIVER, (remembering that some things are for sharing, some things are for keeping), is no longer the criteria of a “job well done”, the job now HAS TO BE DONE. Also noticeable is the extent of some of the material, I am continually returning to ISAIAH 58 and feel prompted to “get deeper” (WIP) whilst there are notes like “Casual and Causal” and the note below that are noteworthy for their brevity.

The time has come I believe when we can no longer ignore the message after we have “done our stint” in the pulpit, or in Sunday school, or in the choir or orchestra, but how do I get to maintain the fervor of the truth so that it becomes a demonstrative example rather than an eloquent discourse. The Lord reminded me:-

John_14:26 But the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, Standby), the Holy Spirit, Whom the Father will send in My name [in My place, to represent Me and act on My behalf], He will teach you all things. And HE WILL CAUSE YOU TO RECALL (WILL REMIND YOU OF, BRING TO YOUR REMEMBRANCE) EVERYTHING I HAVE TOLD YOU.

Can you imagine that when we have attained to the requirements that Father is asking of us that we will remember all the messages that we have delivered, not only in the context of the material but also in the application of the principle, and as a consequence become a mirror of the One we serve.

I offer the following “work in progress” for your consideration and extension

PREPARATION, PRESENTATION, DEMONSTRATION, CONTINUATION

PREPARATION …. This involves not only the subject matter we are researching or exploring or practicing. I recall several years ago that we were prompted to understand that PREPARATION IS PARAMOUNT, a term that has never forsaken me.

We need to be prepared before we start to prepare (study or practice). If our concentration has been on other things then we need to sit and listen so that we do not contaminate the message with our own ideas. Sometimes the Lord will demand a particular time of our day so that He has our undivided attention ( it is possible!!!) then at other times He will come to us in the night watches, or in the midst of some frenetic activity just to prove that no matter what or where we are He is watching us intimately.

Ephesians 6:15 And having shod your feet IN PREPARATION [to face the enemy with the firm-footed stability, the promptness, and the readiness produced by the good news] of the Gospel of peace.

PRESENTATION …. This is always a challenge, does our personality exhibit itself when we are in the pulpit, leading bible study, teaching Sunday school etc etc. We can be either too bold to too shy when making our “presentation” and are espousing the truth. We cannot afford to have any sense of superiority or inferiority as we “present”. PRESENTATION comes from the root “PRESENT” or “OFFER” and if we are inspired by the Holy Spirit it is difficult for folk to refute the “Present” or “Gift” although it may be confronting. This of course only applies to the genuine seeker after God, when we are lukewarm or ambivalent plenty of excuses will surface. Let us not detract from the subject we have PREPARED so thoroughly, by our sense of inadequacy and its attendant distraction.

Romans_12:1 I APPEAL to you therefore, brethren, and beg of you in view of [all] the mercies of God, to MAKE A DECISIVE DEDICATION OF YOUR BODIES [PRESENTING ALL YOUR MEMBERS AND FACULTIES]AS A LIVING SACRIFICE, HOLY (DEVOTED, CONSECRATED) AND WELL PLEASING TO GOD, WHICH IS YOUR REASONABLE (RATIONAL, INTELLIGENT) SERVICE AND SPIRITUAL WORSHIP.

DEMONSTRATION …. How contradictory or hypocritical am I if I deliver a potent exposé on an important truth where Father is trying to “Build His Church” and then fail to apply the principles and behaviors to my own life. This should not deter us from seeking after and presenting the truth, it should encourage us to be even more vigilant in our searching after God.

Demonstration is never easy, it first has to overcome my habitual behavior learned over decades and then has to implant honourable behaviors , all in line and clearly seen and defined by my PRESENTATION, firstly in line with the Word of God and secondly as a rework of my character.

1 Corinthians 2:4 And my language and my message were not set forth in persuasive (enticing and plausible) words of wisdom, BUT THEY WERE IN DEMONSTRATION of the [Holy] Spirit and power [a proof by the Spirit and power of God, operating on me and stirring in the minds of my hearers the most holy emotions and thus persuading them],

CONTINUATION …. I often find that the challenges the Lord puts before me, I can accommodate once or twice and then fall back into an old pattern, I lack the “CONTINUATION.” I need to do it by “ALTERATION” or by adjustment of my characteristics in line with my Presentation.

Joshua 1:8 This Book of the Law SHALL NOT DEPART OUT OF YOUR MOUTH, but you shall meditate on it day and night, that you may OBSERVE AND DO according to all that is written in it. For then you shall make your way prosperous, and then you shall deal wisely and have good success. (in putting the facts into reality – comments mine)

Isaiah_59:21 As for Me, this is My covenant or league with them, says the Lord: My Spirit, Who is upon you [and Who writes the law of God inwardly on the heart], and My words WHICH I HAVE PUT IN YOUR MOUTH shall not depart out of your mouth, or out of the mouths of your [true, spiritual] children, or out of the mouths of your children’s children, says the Lord, from henceforth and forever. ( REAL CONTINUATION – comments mine))

John_15:7 If you live in Me [abide vitally united to Me] and My words REMAIN IN YOU AND CONTINUE to live in your hearts, ask whatever you will, and it shall be done for you. ( LOOK OUT, HERE WE COME!!!!!)

Leave a comment