WALKING IN THE SPIRIT #10 ROSS SMITH


We are again discussing walking in the Spirit, to determine the means.  I have read from Colossians 3v12 as a reinforcement of that which Paul said to the Colossian church in

Colossians 1:11b               [We pray] that you may be invigorated and strengthened with all power according to the might of His glory, [TO EXERCISE] EVERY KIND OF ENDURANCE AND PATIENCE (PERSEVERANCE AND FORBEARANCE) WITH JOY,

Colossians 3:12                  Clothe yourselves therefore, as God’s own chosen ones (His own picked representatives), [who are] purified and holy and well-beloved [by God Himself, by putting on behaviour marked by] tender-hearted pity and mercy, kind feeling, a lowly opinion of yourselves, gentle ways, [and] patience [which is tireless and long-suffering, and has the power to endure whatever comes, with good temper].

Note that in both instances, Colossians 1 and 3, that there is the necessity for our exercising, our participating, and our expending some energy.  The power to endure is part of what we looked at last week when we were invigorated and strengthened by the might of His power and so this is what part of that power is for – that we might be able to EXERCISE.  We see in part the reason why it is required and no doubt as we proceed we will find there is a much more acute reason for this power.

The word TO EXERCISE is the same requirement that we have previously seen for walking and living in the Spirit but it indicates that there is a demand for APPLICATION.  At the point in time that the message finally penetrates and we understand that we are required to expend some energy to succeed in matters spiritual and eternal, at that point in time there will occur a spontaneous release of the Spirit of God toward us.   At that point in time when the penny drops that we need to apply ourselves, God will release His Spirit to us in a way that we can’t imagine.  How do I know?  The Bible says in

James 4:8                            Come close to God and He will come close to you.

The Word specifies how energetic we are to be.  Some of us find we have boundless energy, it seems to be restrained so often to children below the age of about five, and then for some reason peters out.

Deuteronomy 6:5            And you shall love the Lord your God with all your [mind and] heart and with your entire being and with all your might.

Now that doesn’t leave a lot of faculties for other activities.  Unfortunately, to many of us, exercise in an unacceptable term, it implies a disruption of my comfort.

There is a cost of some sort in exercise, it might be time, energy or pain or pride.  Exercise is not just physical, but mental and emotional and spiritual, but the same degree and type of discipline is required in all areas.

We understand exercising in some areas, particularly in the area of the physical, we exercise RESTRAINT, CARE, SELF-CONTROL, and LOVE.  All of these things require application but if any of these are not exercised they will deteriorate into a state of unfitness, or unpreparedness, that inadequacy, with the resultant effect that when we are called upon to demonstrate this particular attribute whether it be strength in the physical or the strength of a particular characteristic, then we are shown to be unfit.

Paul said to the Corinthian church in

1 Corinthians 9:27            But [like a boxer] I buffet my body [handle it roughly, discipline it by hardships]

He is talking here about self-control, not about masochism, it is self-control that Paul is referring to.

and subdue it, for fear that after proclaiming to others the Gospel and things pertaining to it, I myself should become unfit [not stand the test, be unapproved and rejected as a counterfeit].

Paul says I buffet my body, I subdue it, I keep myself under control because if I don’t exercise, then I will become unfit.  Of course there are exercises that are inappropriate and these we need to avoid, and I’m not talking about walking.

Psalm 131:1                        LORD, MY heart is not haughty, nor my eyes lofty; neither do I exercise myself in matters too great or in things too wonderful for me.

The Psalmist says there are some things we should not get involved in.  We should not exercise ourselves in those matters.  Then there is the exercise that so often we overdo, some do it with a knife and fork, fortunately, that trend is reversible.  But the Bible says that there is one area which is difficult to reverse in which we overdo that exercise.

James 3:8                            But the human tongue can be tamed by no man. It is a restless (undisciplined, irreconcilable) evil, full of deadly poison.

Let me tell you, in the majority of people today, the muscle of the tongue is the most exercised muscle in the body, and we need to subdue it.

The Apostle Paul is a classic example of the principle of exercise.  We’ve already seen in 1 Corinthians 9v27 but he also expands upon it in

Acts 24:16                            Therefore I ALWAYS exercise and discipline myself [MORTIFYING my body, deadening my carnal affections, bodily appetites, and worldly desires, endeavouring in ALL respects] to have a clear (unshaken, blameless) conscience, void of offense toward God AND TOWARD MEN.

Underline those last three words.  It becomes very apparent down the track that this is one of the areas that is so relevant to us exercising endurance and patience and longsuffering and forbearance, void of offence toward God and toward man.  The crystallizing of the thought is recorded in

1 Timothy 4v7b Train yourself toward godliness (piety),

Training involves pain, and effort and energy, and remember Colossians 1v11 says “EXERCISE”

1 Timothy 4v7c  [keeping yourself spiritually fit].

1 Timothy 4:8                     For physical training is of some value (useful for a little), but godliness (spiritual training) is useful and of value in everything and in every way,

You see, I’ve learned the secret, I don’t need to go walking around the block for half an hour every night.  The book tells me in Isaiah 40v31 that if I wait upon the Lord, He will renew my strength,  I will mount up on wings as an eagle and draw close to God.

1 Timothy 4v8b                 for it (godliness) holds promise for the present life and also for the life which is to come.

So often we strive because we think, “I’ve got to reach that eternal goal”, and so we have, but the book says that spiritual exercise is also profitable in this life.

Exercise and practice – call it what you may – they are similar actions – and I was interested to note that God practices.

Jeremiah 9:24                    But let him who glories glory in this: that he understands and knows Me [personally and practically, directly discerning and recognizing My character], that I am the Lord, Who practices loving-kindness, judgment, and righteousness in the earth, for in these things I delight, says the Lord.

IF ONLY!!!  The church of Jesus Christ today only knows about God, we need to know Him personally and practically.  How do I know Him practically? By putting Him to work in my situation, by saying ‘I want to understand Your ways O God!”  How do I understand them?  By letting God loose in my situation.

I hate this particular part of Scripture because it confronts me fair and square.  So often, it’s much easier to put my sanctification on the shelf for a few moments and deal with the situation.  The book says “Exercise patience and endurance, and do it with joy.  Doing it with joy doesn’t include doing it with clenched teeth.  So often, I can exercise self-restraint like that, but the Book says “with good temper”.  See how consistent the Word of God is.  If we have to do it through clenched teeth, then we’ve got to go back and start to learn the lesson again.

I was in Jeremiah.

Jeremiah 9:24                    But let him who glories glory in this: that he understands and knows Me [personally and practically, directly discerning and recognizing My character],

When we do this, we will be worshippers.

that I am the Lord, Who practices loving-kindness, judgment, and righteousness in the earth, for in these things I delight, says the Lord.

He PRACTICES, He APPLIES THEM, He puts them into effect.  Our exercise then is that we might walk and live in the Spirit, and it’s noteworthy, I think, how we should apply it.

Colossians 1:11                  [We pray] that you may be invigorated and strengthened with all power according to the might of His glory, [to exercise] every kind of endurance and patience (perseverance and forbearance) with joy,

I have never really thought too much about there being more than one kind of endurance, or more than one kind of patience.  I am aware that there are many different forums afforded me to practice each and every kind, but what constitutes every kind?

As I studied, I thought “I’d like to confine this to matters spiritual.  It will be much easier”, but as I got into the Word of God I found that that was not possible.  As I went back and looked at the KJV, it says EXERCISE ALL PATIENCE.  Exercise every kind is just easier for me to understand.

To exercise these qualities is not just a passive acceptance of the inevitable, that “Oh well, mon yana! Tomorrow will be a better day,  I’ll just have to wear it”.  It is not a passive acceptance of the inevitable, but conversely it is an active, unrelenting endeavour even in spite of difficulty and trial.  When the things of the earth come against you, God is trying to refine you.  We say “Make me like You Lord, but just don’t put me through it”, that’s our unspoken request.

The definition, when we go back into the dictionary, is quite extensive.  It covers a fairly broad definition but one that interested me was this…

To subject to forms of exertion, in order to train, to strengthen, to condition.

Let me ask you the question.  How much exertion have you applied this week to becoming like Jesus?  How much exertion have you applied this week to the study and contemplation of the Word?  I don’t mean you have just sat in your rocking chair and read half a dozen chapters., that’s not exertion!!

Mark 4:24                            And He said to them, Be careful what you are hearing. The measure [of thought and study] you give [to the truth you hear] will be the measure [of virtue and knowledge] that comes back to you–and more [besides] will be given to you who hear.

Virtue and knowledge is that excellence in our Christian walk.  We need to apply ourselves vigorously to the pursuit of things eternal, and as we do it, we will find that the natural things will take their proper place.

Matthew 6:33                    But seek (aim at and strive after) first of all His kingdom and His righteousness (His way of doing and being right), and then all these things taken together will be given you besides.

If I go into Proverbs 2v4, it tells me “Seek it as hid treasure.”  Dig for it!

Proverbs 2:4                       If you seek [Wisdom] as for silver and search for skilful and godly Wisdom as for hidden treasures,

We have to turn our understanding of the term EXERCISE into practical experience.  What is the “EVERY KIND”?

Remember when I said before that we should become “void of offense toward God and man.”

Mostly the necessity for endurance and patience, for perseverance and forbearance and longsuffering comes about because of the people we come in contact with.  You have heard me say many times “If there were no other people around, I could be perfect”, it’s other people who make me like I am, well, that’s my excuse!

If there were no other people, there would be no need for patience and endurance and forbearance and longsuffering.  I said “Mostly”.  Now obviously there are some other reasons such as the weather or sickness sometimes, where we have to be patient, but if we analyse the prime cause for the need to apply these qualities or these traits, it is people.  Had that experience this week?

We are learning to walk and live in the Spirit, and this is a Christlike lifestyle, and so, we have to understand the foundation.  Let me go back a little. God made people (unfortunately he didn’t make us the way we are), but God made us and consequently, He has a high regard for humanity.  He holds people in high esteem.

As a consequence, we are to emulate that regard for men and women that God has made.  The word tells me in Genesis 1, just where God had created mankind, “and God saw everything that He had made and behold it was very good”.  In all the other five days, when He created all the other things, God saw it was good, but when He created humans, He saw that it was very good.

In Philippians 2v3b we get our instructions

Philippians 2:3b                 Instead, in the true spirit of humility

I think that’s interesting, don’t you, that Paul should couch it in those terms.  So many people have pseudo humility, a quasi humility, so many people indulge in a humility which is not what Paul said, the true spirit of humility.  Where do we get it? By applying and exercising endurance and patience and forbearance and perseverance.

Philippians 2:3b                 Instead, in the true spirit of humility (lowliness of mind) let each regard the others as better than and superior to himself [thinking more highly of one another than you do of yourselves].

That’s a mouthful.  There are some people I don’t have much difficulty doing that with, most people are indeed much better.  But the book says LET EACH REGARD THE OTHERS AS BETTER.  That’s the regard God has for humanity, that’s the pattern that He wants me to emulate, that’s the reason He coerces me to be patient and longsuffering, and I can see that some have already tuned me out this morning, it’s getting too close to home, to close to the bone.

God is dealing with us, because He wants a church without spot and wrinkle, He wants to build a church that the gates of hell can’t prevail against, He wants a bride that is spotless and pure, that’s why he’s dealing with us as he is.

The Word is full of references to patience and longsuffering and forbearance that God has evidenced towards mankind down through the generations.  We only have to go back to the Exodus and see there the tribulations that the children of Israel put God through to see how patient He is.

We come then to Paul’s exhortation to the Roman church and he says there in Romans 2:4-7

Romans 2:4                         Or are you [so blind as to] trifle with and presume upon and despise and underestimate the wealth of His kindness and forbearance and long-suffering patience?

We do it, week by week by week, we trifle with it.  How do I know? Because if we took the Word of God that has come by His Spirit for months now, and had applied it, we would be evidencing the nature of Christ to a far greater degree, but we trifle with it.

Are you unmindful or actually ignorant [of the fact] that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repent (to change your mind and inner man to accept God’s will)?

Remember we learned previously in Colossians 1 that a life that is satisfactory to God is preceded by an understanding of His will.

Romans 2:7                         To those who by patient persistence in well-doing [springing from piety]

Not springing from some philanthropic ambition.  What is piety?  It’s dedication to our God, that patient persistence which springs from piety

seek [unseen but sure] glory and honour and [the eternal blessedness of] immortality, HE WILL GIVE ETERNAL LIFE.

Notice how the renewing of Isaiah 40 and the knowing of God’s will of Colossians 1 comes together again here in Romans.  I want to cover this point.

The Word prescribes the route that we are to follow for the development of patience.  How many here this morning have oodles of patience?

Romans 5:3                         Moreover [let us also be full of joy now!] let us exult and triumph in our troubles and rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that pressure and affliction and hardship produce patient and unswerving endurance.

Glory in tribulation! We glory in tribulation because we know that tribulation works patience.  The only problem in this particular college is that there are too many dropouts.!  When the going gets tough, the tough get going.  I think there is another connotation to that, they pack their little bags and they’re off.  “I’m not getting too far into this brother, I’m not a masochist.”  Who needs tribulation?  I do, Why? Because tribulation works patience and by persistent patience, God will give you eternal life, but I want it – without the tribulation!!!.

James 1:3                            Be assured and understand that the trial and proving of your faith bring out endurance and steadfastness and patience.

I hear people praying for patience, and when I do I shudder, because I know the route that God takes to give you that patience.  Never ask God for patience, for when you ask for it, you’ll get it – through tribulation.

I found it interesting this week to find that the word patience only occurs in the New Testament.  And  so obviously that Word, that quality, that condition is a condition that we are helped to attain by the Spirit as New Testament people.  Patience is bitter but its fruit is sweet.  The book says

Luke 21:19                           By your steadfastness and patient endurance you shall win the true life of your souls.

Isn’t that what we’re about?  Isn’t that the ambition of every heart and life?  You see patience perfects the character of a Christian and as we know perfect character equals perfect power.  I know this from

James 1:4                            But let endurance and steadfastness and patience have full play and do a thorough work, so that you may be [people] perfectly and fully developed [with no defects], lacking in nothing.

James could have recorded, Let patience and endurance and steadfastness have an effect in your life, and that would have been profound, but that is not what is recorded,  it says

James 1:4                            But let endurance and steadfastness and patience have FULL play and do a THOROUGH work,

You see that these qualities must be allowed to function, we suppress these things.  It infers that we have as an inherent characteristic, a propensity for patience, just like we have a measure of faith.  But we make allowances for impatience when James says we should ALLOW PATIENCE… So often we say, “Well don’t annoy Dad today, he’s had a hard day and that’s why he’s agro. It doesn’t say to make allowances for impatience, iT says LET PATIENCE.

Are you prepared to do it?  It says in Job if God can’t get my attention through the preaching of the Word then He’ll try to capture my attention through dreams and visions, and if He can’t get me through either of those, it says He’ll put me on a bed of pain to try to arrest my attention. (Job 33:19) God has aimed the spotlight of heaven into the hearts of His people here this morning saying, “I want you to be like me”.  He wants the church to become patient, not ambivalent, not complacent, but patient and enduring and steadfast and persevering and forbearing.

 

oOo

 

 

Leave a comment